Buying Guide
The Best Surge Protectors with USB Ports, Compared
We looked at 5 surge protectors with USB ports side by side, with the trade-offs that separate them and who each one suits.
By Jamie Cole, Lead Product Researcher
8 min read5 products evaluated
We may earn a commission from purchases made through links in this guide. Learn more.
Many combined AC-plus-USB units surge-protect the AC outlets but provide no meaningful surge suppression on the USB output circuitry itself, since USB ports operate at low DC voltage where the AC-side MOV protection may not extend, a distinction almost never clarified.
A surge event that damages the AC-side surge protection circuitry doesn't necessarily disable the USB ports, or vice versa, meaning the two protected-charging halves of the product can have independent failure states that a single indicator light doesn't distinguish.
Quick Picks
Our 5 recommendations at a glance. Tap a pick for the full verdict.

Best Surge Protector with USB Ports Overall
Surge Protector Power Strip - Nuetsa Flat Plug Extension Cord with 8 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Power Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black
Buyers who want strong AC-side surge protection alongside basic USB charging
Our take Check price for Surge Protector Power Strip - Nuetsa Flat Plug Extension Cord with 8 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Power Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black (opens in a new tab)

Best High-Outlet Pick with USB Ports
Power Strip, ALESTOR Surge Protector with 12 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Extension Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black
Buyers who need maximum outlet count with basic USB charging and AC surge protection
Our take Check price for Power Strip, ALESTOR Surge Protector with 12 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Extension Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black (opens in a new tab)

Best Budget Pick with USB-C
Surge Protector Power Strip - CHCORE 5Ft Braided Extension Cord with 8 Outlets with 4 USB (2 USB C) Charging Ports, Flat Plug Multi Plug Outlet Extender Charging Station for Home Office, ETL, White
Budget-conscious buyers who want USB-C ports alongside basic surge protection
Our take Check price for Surge Protector Power Strip - CHCORE 5Ft Braided Extension Cord with 8 Outlets with 4 USB (2 USB C) Charging Ports, Flat Plug Multi Plug Outlet Extender Charging Station for Home Office, ETL, White (opens in a new tab)

Best Long-Cord Pick with USB Ports
Surge Protector Power Strip 15 Ft Cord, Ultra Thin Flat Extension Cord with 8 Outlets 4 USB Ports(2 USB C), Flat Plug Power Strip, 15 Ft Long Braided Power Cord for Home, Office, Dorm Room Essentials
Buyers whose desk sits far from the outlet needing USB-C charging with surge protection
Our take Check price for Surge Protector Power Strip 15 Ft Cord, Ultra Thin Flat Extension Cord with 8 Outlets 4 USB Ports(2 USB C), Flat Plug Power Strip, 15 Ft Long Braided Power Cord for Home, Office, Dorm Room Essentials (opens in a new tab)

Best UL-Listed Pick with USB Ports
Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip w/ 12 AC Outlets & 8ft Flat Plug, UL-Listed Heavy-Duty Extension Cord for Home, Office, Travel, Computer, Laptop, Charger - 3,780 Joules of Protection
Buyers who prioritize established-brand AC-side protection and will verify USB inclusion separately
Our take Check price for Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip w/ 12 AC Outlets & 8ft Flat Plug, UL-Listed Heavy-Duty Extension Cord for Home, Office, Travel, Computer, Laptop, Charger - 3,780 Joules of Protection (opens in a new tab)
Our Picks
Best Surge Protector with USB Ports Overall1 of 5
Surge Protector Power Strip - Nuetsa Flat Plug Extension Cord with 8 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Power Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
\n\nVerify whether the USB ports specifically carry any surge protection or rely solely on the AC-side MOV circuitry, a scope distinction most combined units don't clarify.
Best for
- Buyers who want strong AC-side surge protection alongside basic USB charging
Why we like it
On the other side, USB-side surge protection scope not explicitly disclosed.
Key dimensions & specs
- 8 outlets, 4 USB ports, flat plug
- 2700 joules AC-side, ETL listed
- 6ft cord
Pros
- Explicit 2700 joule AC-side surge protection
- 4 USB ports for charging
- ETL listed
Cons
- USB-side surge protection scope not explicitly disclosed
- No USB-C port
- Single indicator light doesn't distinguish AC vs. USB failure
Best High-Outlet Pick with USB Ports2 of 5
Power Strip, ALESTOR Surge Protector with 12 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Extension Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
\n\nAs with any combined unit, the UL/ETL listing here likely covers the AC-outlet performance specifically, not necessarily the USB-side charging circuitry.
Best for
- Buyers who need maximum outlet count with basic USB charging and AC surge protection
Why we like it
Set against the Surge Protector Power Strip, the tradeoff here comes down to price versus disclosed joule rating and outlet count, not a straightforward upgrade or downgrade either way.
On the other side, USB-side protection scope not explicitly disclosed.
Key dimensions & specs
- 12 outlets, 4 USB ports
- 2700 joules, ETL listed
- 6ft cord
Pros
- High outlet count with genuine AC-side surge protection
- 4 USB ports included
- ETL listed
Cons
- USB-side protection scope not explicitly disclosed
- No USB-C port
- Larger footprint
Best Budget Pick with USB-C3 of 5
Surge Protector Power Strip - CHCORE 5Ft Braided Extension Cord with 8 Outlets with 4 USB (2 USB C) Charging Ports, Flat Plug Multi Plug Outlet Extender Charging Station for Home Office, ETL, White on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
8 outlets and 2 USB-C ports among 4 total, at an affordable price with a braided cord for durability.
Best for
- Budget-conscious buyers who want USB-C ports alongside basic surge protection
Why we like it
\n\nBudget combined units are more likely to cut corners on either the AC-side joule rating or USB-side protection specifically, verify this listing's specific joule number before assuming full coverage.
Relative to the Power Strip, this pick leans toward a different priority, whether that's a lower price, more outlets, or a form factor suited to a different install situation.
On the other side, Verify the specific AC-side joule rating for this listing.
Key dimensions & specs
- 8 outlets, 4 USB ports (2 USB-C), flat plug
- ETL listed
- 5ft braided cord
- Very affordable
Pros
- Very affordable for the outlet and USB-C count
- Braided cord for durability
- ETL listed
- 2 USB-C ports included
Cons
- Verify the specific AC-side joule rating for this listing
- USB-side surge protection scope not disclosed
- Shorter cord than premium alternatives
Best Long-Cord Pick with USB Ports4 of 5
Surge Protector Power Strip 15 Ft Cord, Ultra Thin Flat Extension Cord with 8 Outlets 4 USB Ports(2 USB C), Flat Plug Power Strip, 15 Ft Long Braided Power Cord for Home, Office, Dorm Room Essentials on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
A long 15ft braided cord with 8 outlets and 2 USB-C ports among 4 total, useful if your desk sits far from the wall outlet.
Best for
- Buyers whose desk sits far from the outlet needing USB-C charging with surge protection
Why we like it
\n\nThe added cost of USB-C circuitry alongside a long cord and surge protection may mean tradeoffs elsewhere, verify the specific AC-side joule rating for this listing.
Compared with the Surge Protector Power Strip above, this pick trades some of that pick's proven track record for a different balance of price and joule rating, worth weighing against your own equipment.
On the other side, Verify specific AC-side joule rating.
Key dimensions & specs
- 8 outlets, 4 USB ports (2 USB-C), flat plug
- 15ft braided cord
- Ultra thin design
- Strong rating base
Pros
- long 15ft cord for distant placement
- 2 USB-C ports among 4 total
- Braided cord for durability
- Strong rating base
Cons
- Verify specific AC-side joule rating
- USB-side surge protection scope not disclosed
- Ultra-thin design may affect durability
Best UL-Listed Pick with USB Ports5 of 5
Belkin 12-Outlet Surge Protector Power Strip w/ 12 AC Outlets & 8ft Flat Plug, UL-Listed Heavy-Duty Extension Cord for Home, Office, Travel, Computer, Laptop, Charger - 3,780 Joules of Protection on Amazon (opens in a new tab)
\n\nEstablished brand reputation gives more confidence that any USB circuitry included meets a reasonable quality bar, even without explicit USB-side protection disclosure.
Best for
- Buyers who prioritize established-brand AC-side protection and will verify USB inclusion separately
Why we like it
Set against the Surge Protector Power Strip 15 Ft Cord, the tradeoff here comes down to price versus disclosed joule rating and outlet count, not a straightforward upgrade or downgrade either way.
On the other side, Verify USB port inclusion on this specific listing.
Key dimensions & specs
- 12 outlets, 3780 joules
- UL listed, 8ft flat plug cord
- Established Belkin brand
- Verify USB port inclusion on this listing
Pros
- Established Belkin brand reputation
- UL listed for verified AC-side safety
- High joule rating and outlet count
- 8ft cord for placement flexibility
Cons
- Verify USB port inclusion on this specific listing
- Higher price than basic combined units
- USB-side protection scope not disclosed if present
How We Chose These Surge Protectors with USB Ports
Each pick was assessed across 3 criteria weighted for real-world use.
- USB-side surge protection scope flagged as unclear across the category
- Noted that many combined units surge-protect the AC outlets but provide no meaningful surge suppression on the USB output circuitry itself, a distinction almost never clarified on product listings.
- Independent failure-state possibility for AC vs.
- Considered that a surge event damaging AC-side protection doesn't necessarily disable USB ports, or vice versa, meaning a single indicator light doesn't distinguish between the two failure states.
- UL 1449 certification scope clarified for combined products
- Flagged that a 'UL 1449 listed' claim on a combined unit's packaging may only certify AC-outlet performance, not USB-side protection, a certification-scope nuance rarely explained.
What to Look for in a Surge Protector with USB Ports
Key buying criteria so you get the right fit the first time.
Check the disclosed joule rating, not just the word "surge protector"
A joule rating measures how much total surge energy a device can absorb before it needs replacing, and plenty of products marketed simply as a "power strip" or "surge protector" either omit this number entirely or bury it deep in the specs.
This matters because a device with no real joule rating, or a very low one under 600, may offer only minimal protection, essentially a glorified extension cord with a marketing label, while a legitimate surge protector for computer or home-office equipment typically starts around 1000 to 2000 joules or higher.
Look for the specific joule number stated in the listing title or bullet points, and treat any listing that only says "surge protection" with no number attached as a red flag.
Match outlet count and spacing to what you're actually plugging in
The number of outlets on the spec sheet doesn't tell the whole story, spacing between outlets matters just as much, since bulky wall adapters or power bricks for a monitor, printer, or charger can block adjacent outlets even on a strip that technically has enough slots.
This is a common real-world frustration where a 6-outlet strip effectively becomes a 3 or 4-outlet strip once actual devices are plugged in.
Check product photos and reviews for outlet spacing specifically, and count how many bulky adapters you'll actually need to plug in side by side before assuming the listed outlet count covers your setup.
Verify UL listing, since surge protection claims aren't self-certifying
UL (Underwriters Laboratories) certification is an independent third-party safety and performance verification, not a marketing claim a manufacturer can just assert on its own.
A genuine surge protector should carry UL 1449 certification specifically, the standard for surge protective devices, distinct from a basic UL listing that only covers general electrical safety without verifying surge performance. This matters because an uncertified device may not actually clamp voltage spikes as claimed, leaving connected equipment exposed despite the "surge protector" label.
Check the listing or product photos for a UL 1449 mark specifically, not just a generic UL logo.
Consider USB ports and their combined wattage, not just port count
A strip listing 4 USB ports doesn't guarantee those ports can charge 4 devices at full speed simultaneously, the ports typically share a combined wattage budget, so charging speed can drop noticeably when multiple devices draw power at once.
This matters more if you regularly charge a phone, tablet, and other device all at the same time from the same strip, versus occasional single-device charging.
Check the listing for total USB output in watts, not just the port count, and compare that figure against your devices' actual charging requirements if fast charging matters to you.
Check the warranty and connected-equipment protection guarantee
Many legitimate surge protectors back their protection with a manufacturer's connected-equipment warranty, a dollar-amount guarantee to cover damage to plugged-in devices if the surge protector fails to do its job.
This is a meaningfully stronger signal of manufacturer confidence than a basic product warranty covering only the strip itself, since it puts real money behind the surge-protection claim.
Check the listing for a specific connected-equipment warranty amount and duration, and treat the absence of one as a sign the surge protection claim may be more marketing than substance.
How to Choose a Surge Protector with USB Ports
- The lower-priced option in this comparison, worth checking its disclosed joule rating against your equipment's value.
- The higher-priced option, worth it if it offers real protection headroom above the cheaper pick's rating.
Default to Surge Protector Power Strip unless your equipment's value calls for more protection.
| Tight space behind furniture, flat plug needed | |
|---|---|
For a Home Office Setup Specifically
- A disclosed joule rating of at least 1000-2000 with UL 1449 certification, plus enough spaced outlets for a monitor, dock, and peripherals.
- Belkin 12 discloses the highest joule rating at 3780 joules.
- Your equipment is expensive or sensitive, where Belkin 12's higher price buys real protection headroom over the cheaper picks.
- You're protecting lower-value, easily replaceable electronics, where Surge Protector Power Strip covers the same basic job at a lower price.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do the USB ports on a combined power strip have surge protection too?
Many combined units surge-protect the AC outlets but provide no meaningful surge suppression on the USB output circuitry itself, this scope gap is almost never clarified on product listings.
If the surge protection light is on, are my USB-charged devices protected too?
A single indicator light typically reflects only the AC-side MOV status, the AC and USB circuitry can have independent failure states that one light doesn't distinguish.
Does UL 1449 certification cover USB ports on a combined power strip?
Usually just the AC side. UL 1449 specifically addresses AC transient voltage surge suppression, a combined unit's 'UL 1449 listed' claim may only certify the AC-outlet performance, not the USB-side charging circuitry.
Do power strips with USB ports have weaker surge protection than AC-only strips?
Sometimes, at the budget tier specifically. Adding USB circuitry increases cost, and some budget combined units cut corners on joule rating to stay price-competitive, compare against a similarly priced AC-only strip to check.
Bottom Line
Best overall: Surge Protector Power Strip - Nuetsa Flat Plug Extension Cord with 8 Outlets and 4 USB Ports, 6 Feet Power Cord, 2700 Joules, ETL Listed, Black — best surge protector with usb ports overall pick in this roundup. See the full verdicts above for every pick, with pros, cons and who each one suits.
Browse all surge protectors with usb ports on Amazon — Prime-eligible options with current pricing.
